What is the origin of the word hogwash?

The word hogges wash first appeared in the 1400 in its literal sense meaning swill for a hog. The 1600 hog wash was used in an informal manner to mean an alcoholic beverage that did not have a strong enough alcohol content for the drinker Often the word hogwash is used in anger or as an interjection