Why is it bad manners to put your elbows on the table?

"Elbows off the table" appears to be related to the idea that only lower-class or rough people feel like they need to guard their food by placing their arms on either side of the plate to keep someone from stealing their food. Civilized people don't have to do this, so we invented this odd rule.