Can i substitute apple cider vinegar for regular vinegar?

If you need a different vinegar to substitute for white vinegar use apple cider vinegar or malt vinegar. You could also swap in lemon or lime juice depending on your recipe. When you're canning or pickling there are no comparable substitutes.