What's luigi's last name?

The movie Super Mario Brothers says Luigi's last name is Mario, but in a 2012 interview Mario creator Shigeru Miyamoto confirmed a total lack of surname for the pair saying, Just like Mickey Mouse doesn't really have a last name, Mario is really just Mario and Luigi is really just Luigi