What's the origin of lickety split?

The origin of lickety split. Origen questionable. The term was first cited in American Speech in 1848, as 'lickoty split'. Lickety may have been imported into the US by Scottish immigrants. Split seems to have been added in the US. There are variations such as 'licketty cut' and 'lickety click'