Why do dogs beg so much?

Dogs repeat behaviors that result in a reward, such as food. If begging results in a food reward, even 1 in 10 times, it is still worthwhile to continue begging. If a behavior results in punishment, the dog will avoid the behavior as long as the reward is less than the negative consequence