What is the density of bone?

BMD can be measured using a special x-ray technique called a quantitative computed tomography (QCT) or dual energy x-ray absorptiometry (DEXA).The normal, average bone mineral density is around 3.88 g cm2 in males and 2.90 g cm2 in females.