What did the dutch call new york city?

New York City was once called New Amsterdam. The colony of New Netherland was established by the Dutch West India Company in 1624 and encompassed all of present-day New York City and parts of Long Island, Connecticut, and New Jersey. A successful Dutch settlement there was called New Amsterdam.