How do you cut open a pineapple?

Lay the pineapple on its side and slice off the top and bottom of the fruit. Set the pineapple upright & work your way around the pineapple, cutting off the rind in strips. With the pineapple still upright, slice it straight down the middle into halves and then into quarters.