How do you steam a carrot in the microwave?

Small carrots can be left whole, but most often you'll want to chop them before steaming. Place in a large microwave-safe bowl. Add 1 tablespoon of water, Cover with plastic wrap. Cook for 1 minute. Test for tenderness and repeat at 30-second intervals until the carrots are steamed to your liking.