How much sun should an aloe vera plant get?

Six to eight hours of direct sun is best, although most aloe vera plants will tolerate some light shade or filtered sun at midday. A south- or west-facing outdoor area and slightly sandy soil provide ideal conditions for growing aloe vera, whether in a pot or in the ground.