What does a lowercase l. look like?

An English lower-case, " L ", appears as most frequently as a vertical line, slightly smaller than a full capital letter. Ideally, it will be the same height as vertical components of other lower-case letters, such as " H ", " B ", " D " , and " K ", for example.