How long did it take to make the twin towers?

7 years. Demolition began on March 21, 1966 to clear 13 square blocks. Groundbreaking took place on August 5, 1966, with 2 years of prep work following. Construction began on the North Tower in August 1968, and on the South Tower in January 1969. They were opened on April 4, 1973.