What's the difference between a ppo and an h. m. o.?

A PPO refers to Preferred Provider Organization. So if you go to a preferred provider in your health insurance plan you will pay less. However, you can still go outside the network and receive some reimbursement. With an HMO Health Maintenance Organization you can only see doctors in your network.