What is a tin cup in golf?

The term “tin cup” refers to the 1996 movie of the same name starring Kevin Costner. Costner’s character was nicknamed “tin cup,” which is a protective device worn by baseball players. In golf slang, it now means stubborn or ill-considered behavior that damages one’s chances of winning.