How do you grow asparagus?

You can plant seeds or you can plant "crowns". If you plant seeds, you must wait 3 years for them to be harvested, crowns will give you a harvestable plant in about 2 years. They grow well in any location where the ground will freeze in the winter. Sun is best, but it will tolerate some shade.