How far can a rattlesnake strike?

In the USA, western diamondback rattlesnakes can strike from four feet away. Ordinarily, a strike can cover a distance of between about one third and one half the snake's length. Thus, as a rule of thumb, a three foot (1 meter) snake has about an eighteen inch (0.5 meter) strike radius.