How do you know when a passion fruit is ripe?

Passion fruit is most ripe when it appears all wrinkly and is a dark purple or dark yellowy-red in color – not what you are usually looking for in a ready-to-eat fruit, but true here. Green passion fruit are unripe and can be left on the counter for 3-7 days to ripen.

---

Passion fruits are ripe when their skins start to wrinkle. The more wrinkly they are, the sweeter the fruit. Be advised though, that sweeter is a relative term, a fully ripe passion fruit is still quite tart!