Why do cucumbers turn yellow on the vine?

Getting old and losing its chlorophyll making abilities, chlorophyll is the green substance that all green plants produce to survive. The cucumbers become bitter in taste . You will notice eventually the whole plant ,not just the cukes, will become yellow also.