What's the difference between a hamster and a guinea pig?

Hamsters and guinea pigs are related, but quite distantly. They both belong to the order Rodentia, but guinea pigs are a type of cavy (genus Cavia) and hamsters are rodents that belong to a number of different genera under the subfamily Cricetinae. Guinea pigs are bigger and live longer.