What does emulsify mean in cooking?

Emulsifying in cooking, means thoroughly mixing ingredients to create a mixture of two liquids that can't normally be completely blended together, like oil and water. Think of oil-based salad dressings, blending oil with vinegar, or other liquid ingredients creates an emulsion. Like Mayonnaise.