What is the word ok come from?

The term appears to have achieved national prominence in 1840, when supporters of the election that it stood for "Old Kinderhook", a nickname for the president and re-election candidate, Martin Van Buren, a native of Kinderhook, New York. "Vote for OK" was snappier than using his Dutch name.