Who invented the piggy bank?

During The Middle Ages, in about 15th century, metal was expensive and used for household wares. Instead, dishes and pots were made of an economical clay called "PYGG". Whenever people could save an extra coin, they dropped it into one of their clay jars. They called this their pygg bank.