What is the coldest spot in alaska?

Barrow, Alaska. Barrow is the northernmost city in the United States and is just 1,300 miles south of the North Pole and 320 miles north of the Arctic Circle. The city of 4,581 is built on permafrost that is up to 1,300 feet deep in places and experiences super cold and windy winters.