What is the uretha?

The urethra is the duct which transports urine from the bladder to the outside of the body in both males and females. In males it also passes through the prostate gland. The seminal ducts also empty into the urethra in males making it the duct to transport sperm as well.

---

The urethra is a urinary duct; it also serves as a conduit for semen and sperm during sexual acts. While urine and semen travel through the urethra, the tube is not solely responsible for moving fluids. The urethral sphincter controls both voluntary and involuntary urination.