Is robinson crusoe a true story?

Robinson Crusoe is a novel by Daniel Defoe, published in 1719 and inspired by a true story of an 18th Century castaway. Originally the book was published with the main character, Robinson Crusoe as the author, leading to much confusion of the public thinking that it was a travelogue of true events.

---

Daniel Defoe's 1719 novel "Robinson Crusoe" was inspired by a true story of a castaway in the 18th century, but the novel is fiction. The first printing claimed its author was Crusoe, which led readers to believe it was nonfiction.