When did china take over to bed?

In recent history, the Peoples Republic of China exerted control over Tibet in 1950. The 14th Dalai Lama escaped to India and established a rival government-in-exile in 1959. In 1962, India and China fought a brief war over disputed territory, India won. Political unrest still continues in Tibet.