What is a heat advisory warning?

A Heat Advisory is issued when the heat index is expected to reach 105 to 109 degrees (east) or 100 to 104 degrees (west). An Excessive Heat Warning is issued when the heat index value is expected to reach or exceed 110 degrees (east of the Blue Ridge) or 105 degrees (west of the Blue Ridge)