What is the vietnam war about?

French occupied South Vietnam wished to take back communist North Vietnam. They failed and pulled out. War hawks in the U.S.; paranoid about the threat of the rise of communism, first in China, then Vietnam, convinced Congress and the president that we must commit troops to the fight.