What's the average height of an n. b. a. basketball player?

The average American male is 5 ft 9.3 in (1.76 m). Yet, in a 2007-08 player survey, the average player in the National Basketball Association (NBA) is listed at 6 ft 7 in (2.01 m) in shoes.