Why is ice sticky?

Ice is sticky only to certain kinds of surfaces at certain temperatures. A tongue or slightly sweaty finger may stick readily to an ice cube as the warmth temporarily melts ice at its surface; once the warmth has dissipated, the water quickly refreezes, creating an icy link.