How do you craft a notch apple in minecraft?

Crafting notch apples was originally done by surrounding a golden apple with 8 gold blocks in a crafting table grid, that feature was removed in Minecraft 1.9 and notch apples have since become a loot only item that can no longer be crafted by players.