What is the retina of the eye?

The retina is a thin layer of tissue that lines the back of the eye on the inside. It is located near the optic nerve. The purpose of the retina is to receive light that the lens has focused, convert the light into neural signals, and send these signals on to the brain for visual recognition.

---

The retina is the rear inside of the eyeball where the light-sensing cells are.