What's the smoke index?

Smoke-developed index (abbreviated SDI) is a measure of the concentration of smoke a material emits as it burns. Like the Flame Spread Index, it is based on an arbitrary scale in which asbestos-cement board has a value of 0, and red oak wood has 100