What's considered the east coast?

Geographically, the east coast of the United States is defined as shoreland that touches the Atlantic Ocean. This includes the states from Florida to Maine. Culturally, the "East Coast" is often thought of as those states north of the Mason-Dixon Line whose shorelands touch the Atlantic Ocean.