What's a participle?

A participle is a word formed from a verb and used as an adjective or a noun. The verb refresh, "Please refresh my drink." becomes the adjective refreshing in "This is a refreshing drink." The verb accuse, "She did accuse him of robbery." becomes the noun "accused" in "The accused was set free."