Who is gitche gumee?

Gitche Gumee is the Ojibwe Indian name for Lake Superior. The words translate to "Big Sea" or "Huge Water." Gitchee Gumee was popularized by Henry Wadsworth Longfellow's poem, "Hiawatha"