What is red cranberry?

Cranberries are red berries that grow on a bog plant. When ripe, paddles are used to separate the berries from the vines, and the floating berries are harvested. Cranberries are extremely tart and are usually prepared with sugar and made into a sauce to accompany turkey, or as a fruit juice.