What is ' used for in writing?

Apostrophes are used in place of letters when combining two words to form a contraction. It replaces the “o” in “not” in the contractions “don’t” and “can’t”. And replaces the “I” in “is” in the contractions “it’s” and “that’s”. Apostrophes also show possession like John’s or Suzy’s.