Does lightning come up from the ground?

Cloud-to-ground lightning comes from the sky down, but the part you see comes from the ground up. A typical flash lowers a path of negative electricity, that we cannot see, that meets a positive charge from objects on the ground. When these two collide a return stroke zips back up to the sky

---

The answer is both. Cloud-to-ground (CG) lightning comes from the sky down, but the part you see comes from the ground up.