Is ireland part of the u. k.?

Northern Ireland, which makes up the 6 northeastern counties on the island, is part of the UK, and its capital is Belfast. The remaining 26 counties make up the Republic of Ireland, which gained its independence in 1922. Its capital is Dublin.