When were dashcams invented?

The first recorded use of a dashcam was in the 1930s, when H. C. Fairchild, of Washington DC, invented the first “windshield camera” designed to help police officers catch traffic violators. This setup had three cameras mounted to a vehicle and took still pictures to be used as evidence.