How long can a penguin hold their breath?

A penguin can hold its breath for up to 20 minutes. Emperor penguins are the champions of diving in the world of birds. They can travel more than 500 meters below the surface, and stay submerged for more than 20 minutes, even though their oxygen should run out in just a fraction of that.