What is a free standing mountain?

A free-standing mountain is a single peak, not part of a mountain range. A well-known example of a free-standing mountain is Mount Kilamanjaro. Free-standing mountains are generally formed by volcanic activity, as opposed to collision of tectonic plates, which typically forms mountain ranges.