Why is a microwave called a microwave?

Because of the size of the waves it produces. It heats and cooks food by exposing it to electromagnetic radiation in the microwave frequency range.

---

Because the waves that do the cooking are in the microwave band of the electromagnetic spectrum. They vibrate water molecules and cause them to heat up.