What did spade's on playing cards originally represent?

Spades represent nobility, hearts stand for the clergy, diamonds represent the vassals or merchants, and clubs are peasants. In the German tradition, bells (which became the French diamonds) were the nobility, and leaves (which became the French clubs) were the merchant middle class