What is alcohol made out of?

The type of alcohol in the alcoholic drinks we drink is a chemical called ethanol. To make alcohol, you need to put grains, fruits or vegetables through a process called fermentation (when yeast or bacteria reacts with the sugars in food - the by-products are ethanol and carbon dioxide).