Why do you turn clothes inside out?

Turn your clothes inside out when you wash them, so that buttons, zippers, rivets, etc, do not rub against other clothes and possibly damage them. Turning t-shirts inside out also protects the decorative words or graphics and keeps them looking fresh and newer.