How does a styptic pencil work?

A styptic pencil is an antihemorrhagic agent — simply put, it helps constrict blood vessels so they'll stop bleeding. The main ingredient in a styptic pencil is anhydrous aluminum sulfate; an agent that restricts blood flow, allowing a cut to close quickly