Is linseed oil food safe?

Linseed oil for painting and woodworking is not designed for consumption but it can be a very good oil for cutting boards, bowls and utensils depending on the ingredients. Consult the labels carefully. The edible form for cooking is known as flaxseed oil or flax oil.